2019 Payroll updates for Washington State
November 26, 2018, Author: Bradford Batten
As we all careen headlong into 2019, now is a good time to review some important changes regarding your employees and payroll in Washington State. Minimum wage, along with other changes are coming to Washington based employers:
- State minimum wage increases it $12.00 as of January 1, 2019. Minimum wage will vary according to your municipality, so be sure you know what your minimum wage will be.
- Beginning January 1, 2019 Washington State will require the withholding and contribution a new state family medical leave act. Virtually every employee in the state will be covered by this new law. Premiums of .04% of all wages will need to be paid into this new state fund. Employers with more than 50 employees will need to contribute .0148% of this premium, while employees will contribute .0252%. For employers with fewer than 50 employees, the employer may still contribute, but are not required to do so. In which case, the employee will still contribute the .0148%
- As a reminder, at least 40 hours of an employees remaining PTO from 2018 must be allowed to roll over into 2019.
These are some of the major changes coming to Washington employers. For more details on how these changes may affect your business, contact us.
Thanks for reading!